top of page

It can’t be done if it is not there.

It was time to get up and about. I headed in and there I met Colin from the Registration Legal service. He took me into a side room to talk to me how they deal with the legal policy of HMLR and the legal relationship with the government. They are in a team of 6-7 lawyers and have a policy. This policy is internally the practice guidance which shows you how to approach a problem or difficult situation without disrupting the law. The local lawyers are by him the engine for the firm and they have about 80 of them. Even though their act was last updated in 2002 they still have a library full of books and go in there to consult the words of wisdom if no one else knows. They very much deal with claims which need some legal advice and help. In this hour he also took me to the library (see photos) before leading me to Martin. I had already met Martin before briefly, but today he went into more detail of the fraud and indemnity they work with. Most cases they have to compensate are fraud cases or by relatives, or by a bad solicitor. They deal with money that has to go back to the client who complained about something that was wrong. They make a claim if there is a loss and will receive it if it is valid. Just the fraud claims 8 million a year. Martin then took me through seven IC checks (IC comes from ICMS; Indemnity Claims Management System). Checking that all the details are correct is required at least twice together with other pieces of evidence and by other team members. The last thing he took me through before my break, where 9 statistical tables with figures which we analysed together. Kiran took me for lunch to Boxpark be-fore having me back on time to meet with Richard who phoned me on Tuesday. It had to be clear that he was not only litigation and that they don’t actually make any decisions because they don’t want to be liable. Most cases will end in the court called the first-tier tribunal, though they try to make a deal with one of the parties if it was a mistake made by the HMLR. He gave me several problems that they had to deal with which I read through. On the first one, we had a skype call with the caseworker Jermaine who was in the Nottingham office which Richard runs. After this skype call, I read some more cases, especially one of an angry man. A half an hour phone call happened which could have happened faster. Richard had to make many apologies and acknowledged the problem but the fact is the register can’t be changed for a mistake if there is no mistake to be recognized in the register. We talked through some more cases because of the time limit since he had a meeting following. I must say that even though I never thought of being a lawyer. I do find it more interesting but know that I won’t be capable of the hard work. At least now I have an insight of what could happen and how to deal with it. I got home half an hour earlier since we were done sooner. Nonetheless, I was quit in a hurry once I got ‘home’ because we were going to a ‘lecture’ of Sir Anthony Seldon. There were many factors I did and did not agree on considering the evolution of schools and teaching, basically.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Jail, England or at home.

On Wednesday the 2nd I went with William to court where I saw two prosecution trials. I got taken to an 'abuse' case as well as the 'terrorist-London' case. I had been shown the barristers and solicit

Invasion, watch out, capturing biscuits.

I started this morning first shortly looking what Shirley did before being delivered to Daniel. He is in the HR (Human Resources team) working in the operational part. What they do is mainly looking a

'Stupefy' she said.

My morning started early like every day this week. I immediately met Edward who told me what they do in finance, how he didn’t know how to add much to my language skills but that he will try his best

bottom of page